Pesticide Product Registration
All products offered for sale within the State of Illinois that make a “pesticidal” claim must be registered with the Illinois Department of Agriculture. The Department registers approximately 13,000 products from approximately 1200 companies.
The registration requirement for companies and their products is set up on a TWO-YEAR registration schedule.
The company registration fee has changed to $1,000 per company for a two-year period. (Effective January 1, 2024)
The product registration fee has changed to $800 per product for a two-year period. (Effective January 1, 2024) All renewal registrations are due at the end of the calendar year December 31st. See forms below for more details on each registration. A late fee of $100 will be assessed for each company and each product registration not submitted on time.
Pesticide products which qualify for 25 (b) exemption under the Federal Insecticide, Fungicide, and Rodenticide Act (FIFRA) are not required to be registered in the State of Illinois unless the product is to be used on medical cannabis.
To learn more about “minimum risk pesticides” and 25(b) exemptions, please visit: https://www.epa.gov/minimum-risk-pesticides
Companies wishing to register a pesticide with the department can complete the following form and submit it with proper registration to the Illinois Department of Agriculture, Bureau of Environmental Programs, P.O. Box 19281, Springfield, IL 62794-9281.
Product currently registered with the State of Illinois can be viewed by using the following link below. Simply type in what you are searching for e.g. Company Name, product name, EPA ID or active ingredient. Click on the results for more details.